This is going to be a long road

In an effort to post everyday, I have some great photos of Otto that I had planned to post today. There has been a sort of technical error and I will not be able to show them to you today. The photos have already been uploaded to iPhoto on the silver mac which I use for all posting. Now eric is using that computer and I am using his work laptop. Tell him to switch you say, yeah, he is doing real work and I am just babbling so he wins. He just returned from a work trip to New York working on this
and is now preparing to leave early tomorrow to head to L.A. for a few days. Somewhere in between all of this he is trying to prepare for classes next week which includes finishing a new chapter in his series of “you suck at final cut pro” videos. So here we sit, me blogging and him editing away on his time line. It is a wild and crazy friday night here at out house.

I will say though that I did make it out of the house for a bit this evening and met with some friends for a drink and discussion about the future of the Nature School that we all sit on the board of. Which brings us to the discussion of preschool. We are currently in the throws of visiting and eventually choosing a preschool for Otto to attend next year. I am going to say it now, I am over thinking this to the extreme, but knowing that is not stopping me at all. We saw one school this week where some good friends whose opinions I respect send there children. I was not filled with buckets of love for the school. The truth of the matter is the school I really want does not exist in our town but I am hoping to find something that is close to it. On Tuesday we are going to see the school I am involved in as well as another contender in the list. The more I talk about all the options with friends, the more I realize the granola school I have been working with for many years now, really is the place I want Otto to be. The whole thing is overwhelming and crazy and it is just preschool. Sending him to Kindergarten where they now have standardize testing is not going to be easy, if at all doable for me. Lack of schooling options is one of the main drawbacks to living where we do. What I have to remind myself of all the time is how much of your education comes from your home life. I am totally confident that the enviroment our children are raised in at home is one of continued interest and enthuiasim for learning. That helps me put everything in perspective. Sort of.

2 Comments

Filed under preschool

2 responses to “This is going to be a long road

  1. You are doing so good with the posting everyday! I can't say the same for me. I have a lame one scheduled for today. I like the idea of doing them in advance. If only I could find the time to get more then 1 or 2 done at a time. I have high hopes of sending Hanna to the preschool that I went to. I obviously haven't been there in years to know the current state of it. I know I have time before I need to start focusing on this but I am thinking about it already. Crazy Mama I am!

  2. Let's be real. As mothers of little children, we have no perspective and we overthink everything…and someday they will totally appreciate us for it!

Leave a comment